Captain Beefheart - Son Of Dust Sucker (Captain’s Tapes Of Bat Chain Puller)


Release Date: 2 July 2012

New updated version of the “Dust Sucker” album, which will be deleted after the current pressing has sold through. Captain Beefheart’s original tapes of the Bat Chain Puller album, sent to his friend Roger Eagle in the UK to make sure they got released in the UK, as in the USA the tapes were tied up in a dispute between Frank Zappa and his manager Herb Cohen. "Son of Dust Sucker" combines those original tapes with the surprise nine extra live bonus tracks from the Captain’s illustrious career.

“For years scholars have argued over the existence and provenance of the original Bat Chain Puller album. A rumoured Zappa production, with a different line-up and track listing from the subsequent replacement album, "Shiny Beast", it became a kind of Holy Grail. Well, Beefheartian disciples rejoice! The object of legend and hearsay has come to light! And if you got ears, you gotta listen... The facts are still obscure. Yes, the album was recorded with Zappa's help, but only in terms of him providing studio time (and a couple of part-time Mothers of Invention, Denny Walley and Bruce Fowler), in order that the Captain could secure a new record deal. When Zappa's business affairs fell into disarray, the original tapes were locked away, supposedly until hell froze over. Two years later, with a new deal with Virgin and having veered perilously close to commercialism, Mr. Van Vliet returned to these songs and "Shiny Beast" was born: a comforting return to ornery form. But what of the original?

The tapes (from Don's very own collection) present us with the rough mixes of the album along with contemporary live material and the differences (or lack thereof) are, at once, startling and strangely comforting. When listening to Beefheart it's always tempting to imagine that such noise can only be born of extemporising and that all the tales of a hard taskmaster drilling musicians to extremes of precision are simply nonsense invented by those wishing to confer musicianly credibility on Ol' Dustsucker himself.

This album disproves that notion completely. Tracks replicated on "Shiny Beast" and later albums are both rawer and punchier (due, in no small part, to the elephantine 'air bass' of trombonist Fowler), but in terms of arrangement are note for note duplicates. The man certainly had the vision and these songs represent the widest range of his Dadaist genius since "Trout Mask Replica". "Bat Chain Puller" is a squalling blast of ecological agitprop; "Floppy Boot Stomp", a growling beast of a song ripping at the throat of the bloated corpse of swamp-blues and "Harry Irene" is the most touching song about lesbian restaurant owners ever recorded.

What this album contains is a spontaneity and wisdom that was largely lost by 1977, the world having turned away from Beefheart's increasingly relevant warnings concerning our place in the natural order of things. It's our loss, but Dust Sucker (remember, Don used to be a vacuum cleaner salesman!) still has the power to set us right. Buy this album, it's safe as milk”.

Chris Jones, BBC Review.

Track List:

1. Bat Chain Puller
2. Seam Crooked Sam
3. Harry Irene
4. 81 Poop Hatch
5. Flavor Bud Living
6. Brickbats
7. Floppy Boot Stomp
8. A Carrot Is As Close As A Rabbit Gets To A Diamond
9. Owed T'Alex
10. Odd Jobs
11. 1010th Day Of The Human Totem Pole
12. Apes Ma.
(Tracks 13 – 21: Nine mystery live bonus tracks)

Back To Index