Week of October 5, 2003

Pacific Drift

Lawrence Arendes - drums, percussion, vocals
Graham Harrop - guitar, bass
Barry Reynolds - guitar, vocals
Brian Shapman - keyboards, vocals

Feelin' Free (Deram Nova (S)ND 13) 1970

Water Woman/Yes You Do (Deram DM 304) 1970 

Pacific Drift were Lawrence Arendes (drums), Graham Harrop (guitar and bass), Barry Reynolds (guitar and vocals), and Brian Shapman (keyboards and vocals). Arendes had been drummer with Manchester's freak-beat outfit Wimple Winch before joining Sponge, whose only recording was as singer Dave Berry's backing band on a 1969 single.

When Jack Lancaster left Sponge to form Blodwyn Pig, the remaining members renamed themselves Pacific Drift, releasing an album on Deram Nova that contained a wide variety of musical styles, ranging from pop to blues to progressive rock. ‘Tomorrow Morning Brings' is perhaps the album’s outstanding track, featuring evocative harpsichord playing by Shapman. Pacific Drift disbanded in 1971. Reynolds briefly went solo in the early 80s.

Source: Legend Of The Mind – The Underground Anthology (Decca/Universal, 2002 - 5857832)

Discography taken from The Tapestry of Delights - The Comprehensive Guide to British Music of the Beat, R&B, Psychedelic and Progressive Eras 1963-1976, Vernon Joynson
ISBN 1 899855 04 1

Back to Alex's Home Page