Week of June 22, 2003


Andy Ellison - Vocals
Martin Gordon - Bass
Davy O'List - Guitar
Peter Oxendale - Keyboards
Chris Townson - Drums
Ian McLeod - Guitar
Trevor White - Guitar

Jet (CBS 80699) 1975 (on CD by Radiant Future, as below)

Jet - Radiant Future, RFVP002CD
More Light Than Shade - Radiant Future, RFVP003CD

My River/Quandary (CBS 3143) 1975 
Nothing To Do With Us/Brain Damage (CBS 3317) 1975

Formed in June 1974, after Martin Gordon placed an advert in Melody Maker, which former John's Children and Jook drummer Chris Townson replied to. Andy Ellison, who'd been vocalist with John's Children, was lured into the band, as was former Misunderstood, Nice and Roxy Music eccentric Davy O'List. Their album, which was produced by Roy Thomas Baker, was well received but didn't sell enough copies to make much impact. It was, however, a glitter rock classic. O'List soon lost interest and left, and Oxendale joined The Glitter Band. A couple of new members were recruited, and the new line-up did record demos, but the writing was on the wall, and by the Summer of 1976, the band had disintegrated. Six months later, Gordon, Ellison and McLeod re-emerged in Radio Stars.

Taken from The Tapestry of Delights - The Comprehensive Guide to British Music of the Beat, R&B, Psychedelic and Progressive Eras 1963-1976, Vernon Joynson
ISBN 1 899855 04 1

Back to Alex's Home Page